My recent family trip to Taiwan in June 2017 will be my third time in Taiwan. My memories of Taiwan from past visits was that it was a country with cheap food and friendly people. After watching Taiwan variety shows over the years, I was keen to go back and explore all the scenic places of Taiwan that I have missed out in past visits. Unfortunately Mr J did not have enough leave from work, so this trip is just me and my family 🙂

This will be the first time my family is travelling together without any tour guides or car, so I took 2 months just to plan a relatively relaxing route that was budget friendly and covered all the places I wanted to go. I was very satisfied with the end result and was superrrr excited to start the trip and get out of city life. Sadly, Lady Luck was not on my side. We met with the worst seasonal rain that Taiwan had in 10 over years. It was so bad that most of the tourist spots were closed for the first 2 days that we were there. Even our airbnb host and taxi driver were advising against going to the mountain area. So we ended up cancelling our trip to the mountains and stayed in Taipei from Day 3 onwards. This would mean that it will be my 3rd trip that is mainly Taipei only! >.<

Looking at the positive side, I have to say that this unexpected twist of events taught me to be spontaneous and adapt quickly to new situations. I never had to cancel all my transport and accommodation bookings halfway through a trip before, and it was kind of exciting to be in a foreign country with absolutely no plans what to do! There was freedom for us to try new food and explore new places which would otherwise have been missed. Through this trip, I had better understanding of my family’s travelling preference. I was also thankful that the new situation created opportunities for me to interact more with the locals and meet so many great Taiwanese who offered their help and advice. So, all well ends well! ^^

Below is the overview of my 8-day itinerary. Despite the additional two days in Taipei, our itinerary still ended up to be so packed >.< Details will follow in later posts!

Taichung

Taichung Map
Map of places we went in Taichung, colour coded according to days (Orange – Day 1, Red – Day 2, Blue – Day 3). Locations are marked according to Google Map, but routes were marked out based on my guess-timation

Day 1:
Taoyuan Airport –> Airbnb in Taichung –> Dinner at Chun Shui Tang (春水堂)

Day 2:
Rainbow Village (彩虹眷村) –> Ji Ji train station (集集车站) –> Checheng train station (车程站)  –> Drive around Sun Moon Lake (日月潭) –> Stay at Hu Yue Lakeview hotel (湖悅民宿)

Day 3:
Ferry ride around Sun Moon Lake (日月潭) –> Puli Brewery (埔里酒厂) –> Feeling 18 Degree Chocolate Factory (18°C巧克力工房) –> Hung Gee Bees Farm (宏寄蜜蜂生态农场) –> Guang Xing Paper Mill (廣興紙寮) –> Miyahara Ophthalmology Department (宫原眼科) –> Airbnb in Taipei

Taipei

Taipei Map
Listed Taipei locations in a metro map because metro is the most convenient way to travel around Taipei. Red – Day 4, Day 5 – Purple, Day 7 – Blue

Day 4:
Fu Hang Soy Milk (阜杭豆漿) –> National Palace Musuem (國立故宮博物院) –> Hot Spring at Xin Beitou (新北投) –> Tamshui (淡水)

Day 5:
Yong He Soy Milk (永和豆浆) –> Lunch at Addiction Aquatic Development (上引水产) –> Ximending (西门町) –> Linjang / Tonghua Night Market (臨江 / 通化夜市)

Day 6:
Yehliu Geopark (野柳地質公園) –> Jiufen (九份) –> Golden Waterfall (黃金瀑布) –> Shifen (十份) –> Keelung Miaokou Night Market (基隆廟口夜市)

Day 7:
Ding Tai Fung (鼎泰丰) –> Hong Ji Bakery (台湾金牌鸿记名产馆) –> Eslite flagship store at Xinyi District (诚品信義店) –> Cafe Waiting Love (等一个人咖啡) –> Taipei 101 (台北101) –> Raohe Night Market (饶河夜市)

Day 8:
Taoyuan Airport –> Home Sweet Home 🙂

 

